University of Stellenbosch student centre

At the heart of

the Winelands

Lies a small town with a Rich History

immerse yourself

Stellenbosch is conveniently situated in the heart of the Boland, surrounded by mountains that boast a vast variety of breath-taking hiking trails.  It is also in proximity of bustling, cosmopolitan Cape Town, with iconic Table Mountain guarding over the vast Atlantic Ocean. 

Paarl, Franschhoek, Somerset West and Hermanus are but a few unique, interesting towns that can be visited on a one-day excursion. The town is surrounded by numerous world-renowned wine farms, where a leisurely wine tasting, or laid-back lunch will make you experience the exceptional hospitality of the winelands. The cellars are very popular and is home to the very first wine route in South Africa, which was established in April 1971.

Numerous breathtaking hiking trails offer nature lovers the ideal escape into nature. The Jonkershoek Nature Reserve is home to a vast variety of typical fynbos flora and fauna.

Stellenbosch is also referred to as ‘Eikestad’, which means ‘City of Oaks,’ due to the large number of oak trees in the area. Authentic examples of Cape Dutch, Georgian, and Victorian architecture line the town’s streets and which have been declared National Monuments. 

Stellenbosch is home to the world-renowned Stellenbosch Conservatoire, the oldest music school in the country. A variety of galleries and museums exhibit national and international art collections which are well worth a visit. Other places of interest are The Toy & Miniature Museum, the only one in South Africa, and the town square, also known as ‘Die Braak,’ which is a centrally located village green used for festivals and celebrations.


Eikestad (Town of Oaks), is still used to describe the town today.



Crozierhof, situated adjacent to the GG Cillié building, was acquired by the University in 1966. Crozier Street, Crozier House and Crozierhof are named after Robert James Crozier, third son of Robert Crozier (1785-1852) and Johanna Magdalena van Ryneveld (1795-1866). Robert Crozier was the Postmaster General of the Cape Colony 1815 – 1852, and by 1827 also the “District Agent” for Stellenbosch.

Robert James Crozier (1822-1913) was the chief clerk to the magistrate of Stellenbosch, one of the first church wardens of St Mary’s church, and he became the clerk of the Divisional Council in 1865. He was also chairman of the Stellenbosch Agricultural Society and a council member of Stellenbosch Gymnasium. He also served as magistrate of several other districts before retiring in Stellenbosch to a home in College Square.

Robert James Crozier was married to Hester Anna Cloete of Klapmuts, and they had 10 children. St Mary’s on the Braak has 3 windows dedicated to Robert James, his wife and one of their daughters, Maria Johanna. (Lamgham-Carter, R.R. 1992 The early Stellenbosch British, Familia, 1992, p. 77-86)

Crozierhof accommodation bedroom back view in Stellenbosch
Waldenhof accommodation building, Stellenbosch


Waldenhof was acquired by the University in 1959 and is currently used as guest accommodation. The name most probably originates from the German word “wald”, which means forest. As it is close to Huis Ten Bosch, which name also refers to an abundance of trees that used to be there, it can be assumed that this is the case with Waldenhof as well.


The Stellenbosch University Administration Building, Rooi Plein… (centre of campus) and the Neelsie Student Centre.